Once again I have a list of songs here and not too precise an idea of where they fell on the 1002 Best Songs of All Time countdown. I must have fallen asleep or something while recording. But these generally appeared between 600 and 500.

While looking for appropriate videos for this blog on YouTube, I’m struck by how many people are saying “80s music was the best music!” or “I was born too late – I missed all this stuff!” and various observations on how crappy popular music has become. I also find myself remembering the early 80s when I was a kid and my mom was listening to 60s music on the radio, and I thought, “One day, all my favourite music will be oldies!” That day seemed very far away. Insert worldy-wise and cynical snickers here.

And now, enjoy some very fine post-punk, new wave, awesome 80s golden oldies.

615. XTC – Making Plans For Nigel

Jimi Hendricks – Voodoo Chile
Boston – More Than A Feeling
Blondie – Call Me
Whitesnake – Still of The Night
608. Prince – Purple Rain
607. Dexy’s Midnight Runners – Come On Eileen

605. John Cougar Mellencamp – Jack and Diane
604. Information Society – What’s On Your Mind

Howard Jones – New Song

Beatles – She Loves You
Waterboys – Fisherman’s Blues
Bauhaus – She’s In Parties

Lynrd Skynrd – Sweet Home Alabama

